short answer
In September 2026, peptide labs that publish prices charged $150 to $300 per sample for an endotoxin test, and $150 to $300 for a 14-day USP <71> sterility test. Other tests sold as sterility, such as PCR screens and microbial counts, listed at $150 to $290, so they do not always save money, and they answer a different question. Extra vials, rush fees and pass-only endotoxin results are the hidden costs.
What endotoxin and sterility tests add to the bill
Endotoxin and sterility are priced per sample, on top of the core test for identity, purity and content. Each usually needs its own unopened vial, so the vials are part of the cost. Sterility also adds at least 14 days of incubation. And one test name can cover different work, so two prices for “sterility” may not buy the same answer.
Every price below is a published list price in US dollars unless stated, checked September 2026, before shipping and tax. Many labs quote instead of publishing. The core test is priced in peptide testing cost, and each lab’s full list is in the peptide testing price comparison.
Endotoxin testing price by lab
| Lab | Endotoxin price | Technique the lab names | Result format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bioviridian | $150 | LAL and rFC, Charles River Endosafe | EU/mL, with no volume to convert it |
| PharmLabs | $160 | Not stated | No client report read |
| Freedom Diagnostics | $175 | LAL (USP <85>) | Two replicates, each “Pass”; no EU value |
| Janoshik | $180 | LAL | EU per vial |
| Uzorak | $180 | Chromogenic LAL | EU per vial, in one of three ranges you choose |
| Accumark Labs | $200 | LAL, listed as EU/mL | “Pass”, with no value |
| Horizon Analytical | $200, or $325 for a 1-day rush | LAL | No method and no per-mg or per-vial basis |
| Vanguard Laboratory | $210 | Not stated | “Pass”, against a limit written per human dose |
| Chromate | $240 | Kinetic chromogenic LAL | Less than 0.5 EU per vial, with a printed spec |
| TrustPointe Analytics | $300 | USP <85>, Charles River LAL cartridges | No client report read |
The last column shows what the lab states or what a report we read in September 2026 showed. Formats change, so ask for a current example report; which labs report a real endotoxin number has the detail.
The price does not tell you what you will get. The reports we read from Freedom Diagnostics, Accumark and Vanguard showed a pass with no EU value, and those tests list at $175 to $210. Janoshik’s $180 test and Chromate’s $240 test returned a number per vial. A number lets you compare batches and apply a limit of your own. A pass does neither.
Endotoxin through Finnrick and in panels
- Finnrick Custom orders add endotoxin to a core test for $29 (Ichor) to $110 (BTLabs). Finnrick’s Standard test, at $250, covers identity, purity, quantity and endotoxin, keeps the result private and targets about two weeks.
- In a panel only: ILS publishes no single-test endotoxin price. Endotoxin comes in its $600 Full QC panel.
- A quoted range: ACS lists endotoxin by kinetic chromogenic LAL at $175 to $350 per sample and quotes each order.
Gel clot endotoxin test cost
No peptide lab in our research publishes a separate price for the gel-clot technique. Two labs that use gel-clot quote per order: Ethos Analytics, whose reports show USP <85> gel-clot, and MDx BioAnalytical, which lists gel-clot and kinetic turbidimetric LAL. Before you accept a quote, ask which technique it buys and what the report will print.
The technique decides the form of the answer. All three are in the harmonised Bacterial Endotoxins Test (USP <85>, Ph. Eur. 2.6.14, JP 4.01):
| Technique | What it reads | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Gel-clot limit test | Whether a firm gel forms at one set level | Complies or does not comply |
| Gel-clot assay | The last dilution in a series that still forms a gel | A value from the end point, or “less than” a value |
| Turbidimetric or chromogenic | Cloudiness or colour, read against a standard curve | A number in EU |
Gel-clot is a full pharmacopoeial method: in a dispute, the harmonised chapter makes the gel-clot limit test decide, unless a monograph says otherwise. Its result can be checked when the report prints the working. An Ethos report we read gave less than 1.25 EU/mL at a 1:10 dilution with a lysate sensitivity of 0.125 EU/mL (0.125 × 10 = 1.25). Pay for a report that gives the value, the sensitivity, the dilution and the volume, so you can turn it into EU per vial. Endotoxin testing for peptides explains the units.
Sterility test price by lab
Labs that list the 14-day USP <71> test
| Lab | Price | Vials or sample | Time published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard Laboratory | $150, an option on any package | One extra vial | 14 days |
| Bioviridian | $200 | Two vials | Not stated |
| Accumark Labs | $250 | A dedicated vial | 14 days |
| TrustPointe Analytics | $300 | 4 to 20 unopened vials by batch size, tested as one composite | 14 to 21 days |
TrustPointe follows the USP <71> table for the number of units: at least four vials for batches under 100, ten for 100 to 500, and twenty above 500. It composites them into one sample, with no extra charge up to 20 vials. You still pay for the vials you send.
Krause Analytical lists a 14-day USP <71> add-on but publishes no price. Chromate’s services page lists a $240 sterility test by membrane filtration and incubation per USP <71>, with vials beyond the one for HPLC. It publishes no incubation time, and a Chromate report we read cited USP <1223> BacT/ALERT, an alternative method. Ask which method your sample will get. Finnrick’s Custom orders showed sterility as unavailable.
Tests sold as “sterility” that are not USP <71>
| Lab | Name on the price list | Method | Price and sample | Time published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freedom Diagnostics | Sterility (PCR) | PCR test for microbial DNA | $150, plus one extra vial | Not stated for this test |
| PharmLabs | Sterility Testing | Microbial counts (TAMC and TYMC) | $220, and 1.0 g of sample | 3 to 5 business days |
| Accumark Labs | Rapid Sterility Screening (PCR) | DNA-based screen | $230 | Not stated |
| Janoshik | Sterility testing (TAMC+TYMC) | Microbial counts, pass or fail | $290, and two unopened vials | 14 days |
Horizon Analytical lists sterility at $275, “temporarily outsourced”, with 16 days published and no method named.
What cheaper sterility methods leave out
A screen does not always cost less. Vanguard’s USP <71> option and Freedom Diagnostics’ PCR test both list at $150. Accumark’s PCR screen costs $20 less than its USP <71> test. Janoshik’s count, at $290, costs more than three of the four USP <71> prices above. What the other methods mostly save is time.
What each method leaves out:
- A PCR test looks for microbial genetic material instead of growing live microbes. Accumark sells its screen as DNA-based detection “without the 14-day compendial wait”.
- A microbial count (TAMC for aerobic microbes, TYMC for yeasts and moulds) comes from USP <61>, the chapter for products that are not sterile. It says how many microbes grew from a measured portion.
- USP <71> cultures the tested units in two media, fluid thioglycollate and soybean-casein digest, for at least 14 days. It asks whether anything grows at all.
Any sterility pass covers only the units tested, and none of these tests measures endotoxin. A vial can grow nothing and still carry endotoxin from dead bacteria. See sterility testing for peptides and bioburden vs sterility.
Extra vials, rush and other costs
- Vials. Freedom Diagnostics asks for one additional vial each for endotoxin and sterility. Janoshik prefers a separate vial for endotoxin and asks for two unopened vials for its sterility count. PharmLabs asks for 100 mg for endotoxin and 1.0 g for its sterility test, the labelled contents of 100 vials of 10 mg. Plan the count with how many vials a test needs.
- Rush. Horizon lists endotoxin at $325 for a 1-day rush against $200 standard. Janoshik doubles the price of the tests it expedites. No fee shortens USP <71>, because the 14-day incubation is part of the method.
- Price changes. Chromate listed sterility at $180 in July 2024, with no price yet for endotoxin; both were $240 in September 2026. TrustPointe’s USP <71> test rose from $250 in January 2025 to $300. Get the price in writing before you ship.
Safe savings and false savings on safety tests
Savings that keep the answer:
- Split the bill in a group. At TrustPointe’s list prices, endotoxin ($300) plus USP <71> sterility ($300) is $600 for one batch, or $60 each for ten members, before vials and shipping. See how to run a peptide group test and our group testing page.
- Order everything together. Sterility can then run alongside the other tests, so its 14 days are not added after them.
- Order the test your question needs. Endotoxin and sterility answer different questions; endotoxin vs sterility shows which is which.
Savings that cost the answer:
- Endotoxin as a pass, or EU/mL with no volume. You cannot compare it or apply your own limit.
- A count or a PCR test bought as sterility. It can cost as much as USP <71> and answers a different question.
What HK Analytical quotes for endotoxin and sterility
HK Analytical has no published price list. Endotoxin and sterility are quoted on request through the quote form, and group tests and batch testing for brands are quoted per sample. Our running costs are lower, and our quotes reflect that. The evidence does not change: every number comes with its raw data, in a signed record you can check.
Our endotoxin test uses LAL and reports EU per mg and EU per vial, with the limit of quantitation, replicates and spike recovery. Our sterility test is Sterility (USP <71>, 14 days), run on its own unopened vials. Results within days of receipt. Sterility (USP <71>, 14 days) is the one test that takes 14 days, because the method incubates for 14 days. Reports can be checked on /verify, and the example report shows the format. We do not hold ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation.
Questions
How much does an endotoxin test cost?
Labs that published prices in September 2026 charged $150 to $300 per sample for an endotoxin test: Bioviridian $150, PharmLabs $160, Freedom Diagnostics $175, Janoshik and Uzorak $180, Accumark and Horizon $200, Vanguard $210, Chromate $240 and TrustPointe $300. Through Finnrick's Custom orders, endotoxin added $29 to $110 to a core test. Several labs want a separate vial for it.
How much does a gel clot endotoxin test cost?
No peptide lab in our September 2026 research published a separate gel-clot price. Ethos Analytics, whose reports show gel-clot LAL, and MDx BioAnalytical, which lists gel-clot and kinetic turbidimetric LAL, quote per order. Ask which technique a price buys, and whether the report will print a value or a "less than" figure with the lysate sensitivity and the dilution.
How much does a sterility test cost?
A 14-day USP <71> sterility test listed at $150 to $300 per sample in September 2026: Vanguard $150, Bioviridian $200, Accumark $250 and TrustPointe $300. Tests sold as sterility that use other methods, such as PCR screens or microbial counts, listed at $150 to $290. The vials you send for the test are an extra cost.
Is a PCR sterility test cheaper than USP <71>?
Not always. Freedom Diagnostics' PCR test and Vanguard's USP <71> option both list at $150. Accumark charges $230 for its PCR screen and $250 for USP <71>. A PCR test reports sooner, but it looks for microbial DNA instead of growing live microbes for at least 14 days, so it answers a different question.
Can I pay extra to get a sterility result sooner?
Not for USP <71>. The method incubates the media for at least 14 days, and no rush fee shortens that. TrustPointe quotes 14 to 21 days for incubation and analysis. A result called sterility that arrives within a few days comes from a different method. Endotoxin can be rushed at some labs: Horizon lists $325 for one day against $200 standard.
Sources
- Bioviridian: order form and rate card
- PharmLabs: peptide testing, prices and sample needs
- Freedom Diagnostics Testing: online intake form and prices
- Freedom Diagnostics: public report lookup
- Janoshik: endotoxin analysis test page
- Janoshik: sterility test page (TAMC and TYMC)
- Uzorak: tests and pricing
- Accumark Labs: services
- Accumark Labs: Sterility USP <71>
- Accumark Labs: Rapid Sterility Screening (PCR) add-on
- Horizon Analytical: services and prices
- Vanguard Laboratory: peptide testing
- Chromate: services
- Chromate: services (archived July 2024)
- TrustPointe Analytics: USP <71> sterility test
- TrustPointe Analytics: store and test catalogue
- TrustPointe Analytics: customer price list, January 2025
- Krause Analytical: peptides
- Finnrick: peptide testing options
- ILS Laboratories: peptide testing
- ACS Peptide Testing Labs: peptide testing cost
- Ethos Analytics: verify a COA (sample reports)
- MDx BioAnalytical Laboratory: services
- Japanese Pharmacopoeia XVIII (English), 4.01 Bacterial Endotoxins Test, harmonised with USP <85> and Ph. Eur. 2.6.14
- FDA: Pharmaceutical Microbiology Manual, chapter 3, sterility testing
Based on each lab’s public website and sample reports, checked September 2026. Prices, methods and turnaround change; check with the lab before you rely on them. Spotted an error? Write to contact@hkanalytical.com.